Skip to main content Download External Link Facebook Facebook Twitter Instagram Twitch Youtube Youtube Left Arrow Right Arrow Search Lock Wreath icon-no-eye caret-down Add to Calendar download Arena copyText Info Close

2020 Magic Online Champions Showcase Seasons 2 and 3 Viewers Guide

March 09, 2021
Wizards of the Coast

It’s a Vintage Cube Draft and Modern doubleheader weekend as we conclude the 2020 Magic Online Premier Play season with the Season 2 and Season 3 Champions Showcases! Each Champions Showcase features eight players battling for their share of $70,000 and to be the next Magic Online Showcase Champion.



How Can I Follow the Event?

The 2020 Magic Online Champions Showcase for Season 2 and Season 3 will be streamed live at twitch.tv/magic, beginning at 10 a.m. PT each day.

  • Saturday, March 13 (10 a.m. PT/7 p.m. CET/3 a.m. JST): Champions Showcase Season 2
  • Sunday, March 14 (10 a.m. PT/6 p.m. CET/2 a.m. JST): Champions Showcase Season 3

Decklists for each Champions Showcase will be published on their event pages each day:

Who Are the Casters?

Here's the broadcast team for the both days of the Magic Online Champions Showcase Seasons 2 and 3 weekend:

Who Is Playing?

The competitors for the inaugural Champions Showcase feature eight competitors from a variety of qualifying events and formats with Season 2 and Season 3 of 2020 Magic Online Premier Play.

Season 2

Competitor Qualification
Adam Cines Limited Champion
Antonio Del Moral Leon Open 1 Champion
Dylan Donegan Modern Champion
Martin-Eric Gauthier Open 2 Champion
Justin Gennari Vintage Champion
Daniel Goetschel Legacy Champion
Devon O'Donnell Pioneer Champion
Tetsushi Sawada Standard Champion

Season 3

Competitor Qualification
Keisuke Komatsu Legacy Champion
Daria Martins Open 2 Champion
Jan-Moritz Merkel Open 1 Champion
Lukasz Przekora Limited Champion
Toru Saito Modern Champion
Bernardo Santos Pioneer Champion
Daniel Toledo Standard Champion
Peter Ward Vintage Champion

How Much Money Is on the Line?

Each 2020 Magic Online Champions Showcase features a $70,000 prize pool. Here's how it breaks down:

Place Prize
1 $ 20,000
2 $ 15,000
3 $ 7,500
4 $ 7,500
5 $ 5,000
6 $ 5,000
7 $ 5,000
8 $ 5,000
TOTAL $ 70,000

What Are the Formats?

The Season 2 and Season 3 Champions Showcase events continue the new, 8-player seasonal championship format. This time, each lead off with a Vintage Cube Draft followed by a three-round Modern format event. If the same player wins both events, that player is the Showcase Champion. Otherwise, the winner of each event will square off in a single elimination playoff match of Modern to determine the Showcase Champion.

How Can I Play in A Champions Showcase?

Want to play along while watching the Showcase? Want to try your hand at qualifying for a future Magic Online Showcase and see if you can earn your share of cash prizes and more? Leagues for Modern, Pioneer, and more are up right now—in addition to the other events on Magic Online—offering Qualifier Points you can use to enter Showcase Challenges.

Check out the schedule of upcoming events, learn more about 2021 Magic Online Premier Play, then get started today!

What Else Can I Play on Magic Online?

Ready to relive another era of Magic sets? Time Spiral Remastered arrives to Magic Online March 18. It brings all the nostalgia and complexity of the original Time Spiral block, curated with modern refinement and packed with amazing retro frame versions of cards only seen in modern Magic frames before! Draft and more awaits those looking to experience Magic history—but like all opportunities it's only available for a limited time.

Learn more about Time Spiral Remastered and be ready to go back to the past.

Can I Co-Stream the Event?

Following Twitch's Content Sharing Guidelines, you can co-stream the 2020 Magic Online Champions Showcase Season 2 and 3 broadcasts from twitch.tv/magic using OBS or XSplit. This allows anyone on Twitch to cover the event in their voice and with their community. To be clear, co-streamed content is not endorsed by Wizards, and we expect anyone who participates in co-streaming to follow Wizards' Fan Content Policy.

Share Article