Skip to main content Download External Link Facebook Facebook Twitter Instagram Twitch Youtube Youtube Left Arrow Right Arrow Search Lock Wreath icon-no-eye caret-down Add to Calendar download Arena copyText Info Close

Neon Dynasty Championship Viewers Guide

February 28, 2022
Wizards of the Coast

The journey to Magic World Championship XXVIII continues at the Neon Dynasty Championship! Over 230 amazing players will face off with Alchemy and Historic for $450,000 in prizes and six invitations to Magic World Championship XXVIII later this year.

How Can I Follow the Event?

The Neon Dynasty Championship broadcasts live March 11–13 on twitch.tv/magic, beginning at 9 a.m. PT (5 p.m. UTC) each day (4 p.m. UTC March 13 due to Daylight Savings Time in the United States).

For the metagame, decklists, match-by-match updates, player details, live streaming, and more start with the Neon Dynasty Championship event page. You'll also find exclusive content by following @MagicEsports on Twitter. Plus, share your excitement throughout the Neon Dynasty Championship weekend across social media with the hashtag #NEOChamps!

When Will Championship Decklists Be Published?

All Alchemy and Historic decklists will be published on the Neon Dynbasty Championship event page on Friday, March 11 at the beginning of Round 1.

The metagame breakdown and deck archetypes overview, written by Magic Hall of Famer Frank Karsten, will be available on Thursday, March 10. An overview of the Alchemy format by analyst Mani Davoudi will be published Monday, March 7.

Broadcast Schedule

Friday, March 11: 9 a.m. PST / 5 p.m. UTC / 2 a.m. JST (March 12)

  • Broadcast ends after Round 7.

Saturday, March 12: 9 a.m. PST / 5 p.m. UTC / 2 a.m. JST (March 13)

  • Broadcast ends after Round 15 and the Top 8 for the Neon Dynasty Championship is announced.

Sunday, March 13: 9 a.m. PDT / 4 p.m. UTC / 1 a.m. JST (March 14)

  • Broadcast ends after the Neon Dynasty Championship Top 8 is complete and the winner is determined.

You can watch coverage for the Neon Dynasty Championship live at Magic.gg and on twitch.tv/magic.

Who Are the Casters?


Can I Co-Stream the Event?

Following Twitch's Content Sharing Guidelines, you can co-stream the Neon Dynasty Championship broadcast from twitch.tv/magic using OBS or XSplit. This allows anyone on Twitch to cover the event in their voice and with their community. Co-streamed content is not endorsed by Wizards, and participants in co-streaming should follow Wizards' Fan Content Policy guidelines.

Who Is Playing?

Over 230 players—the MPL and Rivals League, top-finishing players from the Innistrad Championship, plus qualifying players across Premier Series events, MTG Arena, and Magic Online—compete for six Magic World Championship slots and qualifying points for their journey to the final event of the 2021-22 season.


The complete Neon Dynasty Championship invitation list is available online.

How Will the Tournament Play Out?

Both Alchemy and Historic Constructed formats will be used for Neon Dynasty Championship, covering 15 Swiss rounds of play total across two days.

Friday:

  • Rounds 1–3: Alchemy Constructed
  • Rounds 4–7: Historic Constructed

Saturday:

  • Rounds 8–11: Alchemy Constructed
  • Rounds 12-15: Historic Constructed

As players earn their 12th match win, they will automatically advance to the Top 8 playoff. Final standings at the end of Round 15 will determine any remaining Top 8 slots available after all players with twelve wins have advanced—and any ties for a Top 8 slot will be determined by final standings after 15 rounds.

Sunday:

  • The Top 8 double-elimination playoff will feature Alchemy Constructed.
  • Upper Bracket and Lower Bracket matches will be best of three games.
  • The Title Match will be best of three matches.

What Do Players Win?

The Top 6 finishing players—that is, players who win a match in the Top 8 playoff—receive invitations to Magic World Championship XXVIII. All other players receive World Championship Qualifying Points based on their finish in the event.

Players also compete for their share of $450,000 in prizes:

Place Prize
1 $20,000
2 $15,000
3 $11,000
4 $9,000
5–6 $7,000
7–14 $5,000
15–35 $3,500
36–63 $3,000
64–91 $2,000
92–111 $1,500
112–144 $1,000
145–230 $750
Share Article